Working Groups Released

UK Council for Graduate Education is delighted to release the names of colleagues who will form the inaugural working groups. 

Working Groups Released

Following overwhelming interest in joining one of the four UKCGE working groups on Postgraduate Funding and Resourcing, Postgraduate Student Experience, Diversity and Sustainability of Organisational Structures for Doctoral provision and Quality and Reputation of the UK Doctorate, the council are delighted to release the names of colleagues working in the postgraduate community who have agreed to join the initiative.

UKCGE would like to thank all colleagues who declared an interest in joining the initiative and it is encouraged that colleagues continue to support the working groups and wider council activities towards a strong and sustainable postgraduate sector.

Carolyn Wynne, UKCGE Principal Officer Said:

Given the significant interest in joining the working groups, we hope that the postgraduate community can continue to support the working groups as they develop as well as other UKCGE activities’.

UKCGE Chair Professor Mick Fuller Said:

The council would particularly like to thank the inaugural chairs and executive committee liaison officers of each working group for taking the time to administer a comprehensive selection process for all colleagues who declared an interest in joining each group.’

The members for each working group are:

Postgraduate Funding and Resourcing

Professor Geraint Johnes — Lancaster University (Chair)

Professor Mick Fuller — Plymouth University (Executive Liaison Officer)

Dr Gavin Boyce – University of Sheffield

Professor Daniel Neagu – University of Bradford

Dr Fiona Groenhout – University of Oxford

Professor Lisa Hopkins — Sheffield Hallam University

Graeme Osborn – York GSA

Professor Nigel Vincent – British Academy

Dr Paul Wakeling – University of York

Adam Wright – NUS

Brooke Storer-Church — HEFCE

Postgraduate Student and Experience

Dr Rob Daley – University of York (Chair)

Dr Tina Barnes – University of Warwick (Executive Liaison Officer)

Maureen Tibby – HE Academy

Julie Blant – University of Nottingham & AGCAS

Professor Ken Wann – Cardiff University

Dr Gale Macleod – University of Edinburgh

Dr Tim Moss – University of the West of England

Professor Sharon Huttly – London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Ken Leach – York GSA

Dr Fiona Killard – University of Bristol

Dr Emer Cunningham – University College Dublin

Dr Katy Vigurs – Staffordshire University

Diversity and Sustainability of Organisational Structures for Doctoral provision

Dr Terry McMaster – University of Bristol (Chair)

Dr Douglas Halliday – Durham University (Executive Liaison Officer)

Members: Still TBC

Quality and Reputation of the UK Doctorate

Peter Metelerkamp — University of Bristol (Chair)

Professor Lisa Hopkins- Sheffield Hallam University (Executive Liaison Officer)

Professor Michael Biggs – University of Hertfordshire

Dr Ian Kerr – University of Nottingham

Janet Bohrer — QAA

Professor Carol Costley — Middlesex University

Gill Clarke – University of Oxford (Student)

Professor Peter J Larkham – Birmingham City University

Professor Bruce Christianson — University of Hertfordshire

Dr Jane Wellens – University of Nottingham

Chris Hale – Universities UK

Dr Thomas Jorgensen – EUA-CDE