UKCGE Executive Committee Election Results

Chair formally welcomes new Executive Committee members 

UKCGE Executive Committee Election Results

The results of the elections to the UKCGE Executive Committee have been formally announced at the Council’s Annual General Meeting which took place in Dublin on the 4th July. Eight candidates stood for election to the five available places on the committee. 

Of those who were sucessfully elected by UKCGE member institutions, three were existing members of the Executive Committee:

Dr Tina Barnes (University of Warwick)

Dr Andrew Rawnsley (Teesside University)

Professor Ken Wann (Cardiff University).

Two of those elected are new to the Committee:

Professor Bonnie Steves (Glasgow Caledonian University) 

Dr Catherine Mills (University of Birmingham).

UKCGE Chair, Professor Mick Fuller said:

On behalf of the UKCGE officers I would like to warmly welcome those candidates who have been successfully elected onto the organisation’s Executive Committee.

Following a well-received Annual Conference, I am really excited about the direction in which the council is heading and I look forward to supporting the new look Executive Committee in furthering to the organisation’s mission to provide a strong and sustainable postgraduate sector.

I would also like to thank the colleagues who were not elected for their time in putting a campaign together, and I encourage them to continue to actively support the Council’s activities.”

Principal Officer Carolyn Wynne said:

Bonnie’s team at GCU have been very engaged with UKCGE activities so we are delighted that this has progressed to an executive seat for the University, and pleased to have a representative member for Scottish Institutions.

In the Council’s office we are also excited to have another link member on the Council’s Executive Committee in Catherine who, along with her colleagues at Birmingham, has also been really active in the Postgraduate Community over the last 24 months.”

Standing down from the Council’s Executive Committee are:

Professor Jeremy Bradshaw (University of Edinburgh) – 6 years *3 as treasurer

Dr Alan White (University of East London) – 6 years

Professor Lisa Hopkins (Sheffield Hallam University) – 3 years

Professor Bruce Christianson (University of Hertfordshire) – 1 year

Professor Fuller said:

The Council would also like to take this opportunity to thank Jeremy, Alan, Lisa and Bruce for their input during their time on the Committee. I hope that they, like all existing committee members continue to support the council’s initiatives. I would particularly like to thank Bruce for agreeing to continue his work looking at Practice Based Doctorates for the benefit of the UKCGE membership.”

Extended biographies of the new Executive Committee members, along with biographies for members of the working groups, will be updated on the UKCGE website over the next month. The first meeting of the new Executive Committee will be on the 16th September in London.

If you would like more information about how to get involved with UKCGE activities, please do not hesitate to contact Ben Massey ( in the UKCGE office.