4th UKCGE official Working Group launched

UK Council for Graduate Education are delighted to release the names of colleagues who will form the working group Sustainability of Organisational Structures for Doctoral Provision” 

4th UKCGE official Working Group launched

The members for the Working Group are:

Dr Terry McMaster – University of Bristol (Chair)

Dr Douglas Halliday – Durham University (Executive Liaison Officer)

Dr Emer Cunningham – University College Dublin

Dr Anne Graham – University of Bradford 

Alex Herbert – HEFCE

Dr Ros Jennings – The University of Gloucestershire

Dr Alison Kington – University of Worcester

Professor Gavin Schaffer – University of Birmingham

Dr Rebekah Smith McGloin – University of Nottingham

Dr Nick Watmough – University of East Anglia

The council would like to thank all colleagues who declared an interest in joining the initiative and it is encouraged that the colleagues who were not selected continue to support the working groups and wider council activities towards a strong and sustainable postgraduate sector.

This working group is one of four UKCGE working groups that have been established this year, the other three being: Postgraduate Funding and Resourcing, Postgraduate Student Experience, Diversity and Quality and Reputation of the UK Doctorate.

Dr Terry McMaster (Working Group Chair) and Dr Douglas Halliday (EC Liaison) said:

The new working groups provide an excellent opportunity for the UKCGE to gather input from across the UK HE sector. We are looking forward to working with experts to develop a greater understanding of different approaches institutions have in their organisational structures to support doctoral provision. The working groups will have direct input into the onging work of the UKCGE in supporting and sustaining a vibrant postgraduate activity across the UK which maintains and develops a high quality experience for graduate students”.

The Council’s Principal Officer, Carolyn Wynne said:

The working groups have been agreeing their terms of reference and initial meetings have been hugely successful in setting the agenda of where each group will focus. The wide representation from the postgraduate sector within these groups is bringing strong contributions to the discussions and the Council are looking forward to providing a more detailed progress report from each of the working groups at the International Annual Conference”.