2018 Outstanding Research Supervisor of the Year Shortlist Announced

The shortlist for the Outstanding Research Supervisor of the Year at the 2018 THE Awards has been announced. Find out who’s made it here. 

2018 Outstanding Research Supervisor of the Year Shortlist Announced

As you may have seen, last week saw the release of the shortlist for our Outstanding Research Supervisor of the Year award at the 2018 THE Awards. Once again, this category saw a fantastic response from the PG community.

The Shortlist

The shortlisted supervisors are:

Matthew Bailey | University of Edinburgh

Helen Gleeson | University of Leeds

Chris Megson | Royal Holloway, University of London

Chrissie Rogers | University of Bradford

David Scanlon | UCL

Nicola Shaughnessy | University of Kent

The winner will of this year’s award will be the individual who has created the most supportive, stimulating and inspirational research environment for doctoral students. This year the nomination process required the supervisor’s institution to support the submission and student testimonies had to be included in the supplementary documentation.

The winner, selected by a panel of judges – including our Chair, Gill Clarke – will be the supervisor who has seen outstanding results of their supervision, pioneered an approach to supervision, and has demonstrated enthusiasm for their role and gone the extra mile to help their students navigate through difficulties.

We’re sure you’ll join us in wishing all the nominees the very best of luck!

Previous Award Winner

Read about last year’s winner Dr Matthew Ingles from Loughborough University and the 2016 winner Professor Alys Young from the University of Manchester.

Join the UKCGE Research Supervisors Network

By joining our Research Supervisors Network you’ll gain access to a community of practice, World-class resources to help you with supervision and a series of workshops and seminars to help your professional development.

Join the network here >